ARROWHEAD UNION HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT SPECIAL BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING AUGUST 11, 2021 MINUTES

The meeting was called to order by President Rice at 6:00 p.m. in the South Campus Cafeteria.

Everyone rose for the Pledge of Allegiance.

Members present: Kent Rice, Donna Beringer, Sue Schultz, Craig Thompson, Darrell Beneker, Amy Hemmer, Tim Langer, Chris Farris

Administration present: Laura Myrah, Jeff Gross

The meeting was properly posted.

CLOSED SESSION

Moved by Thompson, seconded by Beneker that pursuant to Wisconsin Statute 19.85(1)(e), the School Board will move into closed session and reconvene to address public business matters:

• Review final land sale offer(s)

Roll Call Vote: Rice – aye, Beringer – aye, Schultz – aye, Thompson – aye, Farris – aye, Langer – aye, Beneker – aye, Hemmer - aye. Motion Carried. (6:04 p.m.)

RECONVENE INTO OPEN SESSION

Moved by Langer, seconded by Thompson to reconvene into open session.

Roll Call Vote: Rice – aye, Beringer – aye, Schultz – aye, Thompson – aye, Farris – aye, Langer – aye, Beneker – aye, Hemmer - aye. Motion Carried. (6:52 p.m.)

President Rice reviewed the rules of an Arrowhead Special School Board meeting and the process of filling the vacant Swallow Representative Seat on the Arrowhead Board of Education, as per Board Policy/Procedure 113. Filling Board Vacancies. The board vacancy is a result of the retirement of Bob Rosch, who was re-elected to the Swallow Seat on April 6, 2021, for a 3-year term. Mr. Rice gave a brief description of the structure of the Arrowhead Board of Education. The candidates interviewed by the Board of Education included: Julie Wold and Connie Van Gilder. Each candidate was given the opportunity to make an opening statement and answer predetermined interview questions.

Following the conclusion of the candidate interviews, the Board of Education cast signature ballot votes to appoint a candidate to fill the Swallow Seat school board position vacancy until the next Spring Election in April 2022. Mr. Farris addressed the board with concerns regarding the application process and a website deadline error. The vote resulted in a tie, (4 – Wold, 4 - Van Gilder) Rice – Van Gilder, Beringer – Van Gilder, Thompson – Van Gilder, Schultz- Van Gilder, Langer – Wold, Hemmer – Wold, Beneger – Wold, Farris - Wold. A second vote was taken with the same results. As per our policy, a third vote was taken, again with the same results. After some discussion, Mr. Rice declared a failed vote for the Swallow seat appointment at this meeting. The school board agreed to repost the Swallow representative seat and hold a Special School Board Meeting on September 8th to discuss the appointment process.

NEW BUSINESS:

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Langer to accept the resignation of Dawn Grady – South Welcome Desk and Lisa Dlobik – Special Ed. Teacher and Sarah Dunmire – Music Teacher effective for the 2021/2022 as presented. Motion Carried.

Mr. Thompson expressed that Lisa Dlobik's resignation is with regrets.

Moved by Thompson, seconded by Schultz to approve the new professional staff contract for Linda Kircher (South campus greeter), the Co-curricular contracts for Boys Cross Country Assistant coaches - Naomi Fulton and Nate Flesch as presented. Motion Carried.

A ten minute break was taken by the School Board.

CLOSED SESSION

Moved by Schultz, seconded by Langer that pursuant to Wisconsin Statute 19.85(1)(c), the School Board will move into closed session and reconvene to address public business matters:

• Superintendent annual review

Roll Call Vote: Rice – aye, Beringer – aye, Schultz – aye, Thompson – aye, Farris – aye, Langer – aye, Beneker – aye, Hemmer - aye. Motion Carried. (8:32 p.m.)

RECONVENE INTO OPEN SESSION

Moved by Langer, seconded by Hemmer to reconvene into open session.

Roll Call Vote: Rice – aye, Beringer – aye, Schultz – aye, Thompson – aye, Farris – aye, Langer – aye, Beneker – aye, Hemmer - aye. Motion Carried. (10:31 p.m.)

Moved by Hemmer, seconded by Thompson to adjourn. Motion Carried.

The meeting adjourned at 10:32 p.m.
Respectfully submitted,
Kate McGraw
Recording Secretary

Susan M.	Schultz, Clerk	