Arrowhead Union High School District
Arrowhead Merit Page

Read about Arrowhead students' successes after high school through the ARROWHEAD MERIT PAGE.

Hallie King 2009 AHS Graduate

NIBF to Honor Tennessee's Hallie King with the Naismith Good Sportsmanship Award

Hallie King, a 2009 graduate of Arrowhead High School, who is attending the University of Tennessee was awarded the Naismith Good Sportsmanship Award.  The Naismith Good Sportsmanship Award is the most prestigious award presented by the Naismith International Basketball Foundation (NIBF). The award honors individuals and institutions involved in basketball for their displays of tremendous sportsmanship on and off the court, their positive contributions to the game and lifelong dedication to the sport. Recipients are selected by a nine member ad hoc committee in recognition of significant and lasting contributions to the sport and the spirit of basketball. In addition, honorees are selected for their role in furthering the values of fun, respect and teamwork that Dr. James Naismith wrote into the 13 original rules of the game. The award is presented only when merited and not on a regular schedule.   King, 20, will be the youngest recipient of the award and only the fourth female to be honored. NBA All-Star Steve Nash was the previous youngest honoree at age 32. Tennessee women's basketball coach Pat Summitt, Dorothy Gaters and Lynette Woodard are the prior female honorees. Other notables to receive the award include John Wooden, Michael Jordan, Oscar Robertson, Jerry West, and Red Auerbach. Organizations that have received the honor include the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Tenn., the YMCA and the Harlem Globetrotters.

Kaila Mattson 2007 AHS Graduate

Kaila Mattson, 2007 AHS graduate, wins the Prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship for Chemistry

Kaila Mattson, 2007 AHS graduate, wins the Prestigious National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship for Chemistry (worth $121,500).  More than 12,000 students applied for the competitive fellowships, which were awarded to only 2,000 students nationwide. Senior undergraduate students competed with first- and second-year graduate students for the awards.  Mattson graduated from the University of South Alabama with a degree in chemistry accredited by the American Chemical Society and a minor in business. She will be pursuing her Ph.D. in chemistry at the University of California Santa Barbara this fall. Her future plans include becoming a chemistry professor at the university level.

Other Notable Graduates

Kristin Barta 2011 AHS Graduate

Kristen Barta, 2011 Arrowhead Graduate, formally accepted into the Corps of Cadets at the United States Military Academy at West Point.  Barta was a National Merit Scholarship finalist and a member/captain of the State Champion Girls Varsity swim team.  She received her nominations to the academy from both Congressman James Sensenbrenner adn former Senator Russ Feingold.